Pre-Appeal: State of Crypto

Hi,

I am new to the Discourse, so I am posting even here before filing a Drop ID.

In the “About the Appeals” category, I read that you can post if you “are genuinely eager to discover better ways of using the proof of attendance protocol”, and this is my case. If there is a better category for this post, I apologize.

We are a group of academic researchers who have created a public survey about crypto and financial inclusion and we want to have a drop that is potentially large: say from 2000 to 10000, potentially more if we are very successful. Hard to say now, that is also why we did not create a petition yet, we are waiting to know the exact number.

So we want to make it right. We are aware of the latest discussions here on preventing farming and limiting pre-announcement of drops.

1. Drop ID
    Not applicable

2. Community information
    https://stateofcrypto.net
    POAP - The bookmarks of your life

3. Nature of the event
    People completed the full State of Crypto Survey 2022

4. Distribution plan
    We will give links to all genuine participants who completed the survey. To prevent farming :

• We have h-captcha and honeypots to catch bots.
  • After the survey is completed, we will verify all responses to exclude bots, duplicates, and random responses.
  1. Why do you believe this petition is being held?
    Not applicable

2. Pre-announcement
    I made a comment here: Guidelines Update: POAP Pre-Announcement - #33 by shakty
    that pre-announcement strategy should be disclosed in the appeals, so here is our strategy.

• We don’t advertise the drop on social media or web site.
  • Shortly after starting the survey, we tell participants that if complete the survey will receive a POAP. So we use effectively use it also as an incentive to complete it.
  • As mentioned before we still check all answers before issuing the POAP to exclude farmers.

Thanks for any feedback!

1 Like

Hey @shakty